Funded through the Federal Highways Administration and the Federal Transit Administration, with matching funds from local government, this program allows northeast Louisiana to attain Federal and State grants for infrastructure development and improvement and assists the City of Monroe in improving its transit system. With respect to metropolitan planning, OCOG’s main objectives are to discuss the planning priorities facing the metropolitan planning area and describe all metropolitan transportation activities. OCOG is the staff for the Monroe MPO, as designated by the Governor and local governments. As such, OCOG must consider all modes of transportation within the planning area boundaries that the MPO and Governor determine.


OCOG provides the metropolitan area with a 25-year long-range Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP) that includes local projects for inclusion in the Transportation Improvement Program(TIP) and the Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP).

Transportation Improvement Program

Funded through the Federal Highways Administration and the Federal Transit Administration, with matching funds from local government, the TIP is a 4-year program of projects that must be fiscally constrained. The MPO must provide an opportunity for public review. Projects are selected cooperatively by the MPO and State and incorporated into the TIP without modification. The TIP must be updated at least every two years and includes an annual listing of projects with funds obligated.

Management Process – MPO Committees and Staff

Transportation Policy Committee

Voting Members

  • Mayor Friday Ellis, Monroe
  • Mayor Staci Albritton Mitchell, West Monroe
  • Councilman Carday Marshall, Monroe
  • Alderman Thom Hamilton, West Monroe
  • Scotty Robinson, Ouachita Parish Police Jury
  • Shane Smiley, Ouachita Parish Police Jury
  • Marshall Hill, District 5 Office, DOTD
  • Mary Stringfellow, FHWA Louisiana Region
  • Laura Wall, FTA Region VI


  • Mayor of Richwood
  • Mayor of Sterlington


Voting Members

  • Kevin Crosby, Ouachita Parish Police Jury – Engineer
  • John Tom Murray, Ouachita Parish Police Jury – Juror
  • Morgan McCallister, City of Monroe – Engineer
  • Arthur Holland, City of Monroe – Project Manager
  • Robbie George, City of West Monroe – Engineer
  • Gary Eldridge, City of West Monroe – Engineer


  • Dawn Sholmire, DOTD State Planning Section
  • Marshall Hill, District 5 Office DOTD
  • Marc Keenan, City of Monroe – Transportation Manager
  • Sue Nicholson, Monroe Chamber of Commerce
  • Casey Lewis, DOTD Public Transportation Section
  • Mary Stringfellow, FHWA Louisiana Regional Representative
  • Ouachita Port Representative
  • Ronesha Hodge, FTA Region VI


  • Doug Mitchell, Executive Director
  • Tracy Ausberry, Director of Economic Development
  • Susan Mitchell, Safety Coordinator
  • Tyler Burdeaux, Planner II/GIS
  • Jeffrey Tyler, Planner I
  • Shelby Rybicki, Planner I
  • Celine Flores-Robinson, Planner I/Grant Writer
  • Jacqualine Closure, Planner I
  • Jeff Maxwell, CPA Financial Officer
  • Patricia Jackson, Receptionist